Sam Bradford after obvious facemask non-call: Ref said I wasn't hit in facemask
Millions of people saw the Vikings' quarterback get hit in the head, just not the officials
With 25 seconds left in Thursday night's matchup versus the Cowboys and a chance to tie the score on a two-point conversion, Vikings quarterback Sam Bradford dropped back to pass. Here's what happened before he threw incomplete to tight end Kyle Rudolph in the end zone:
Sam Bradford: The ref told me I wasn't hit in the facemask https://t.co/Dq0jHZ0YU1pic.twitter.com/2uwJ1QbCic
— NY Daily News Sports (@NYDNSports) December 2, 2016
To anybody half-paying attention, that's clear evidence of Bradford taking a shot to the head from a Cowboys defender, or at the very least, a facemask. But no flag was thrown, to which we can logically conclude that the officials weren't even half-paying attention on the game's most important play.
But don't take our word for it. Here's how the referee explained the no-call to Bradford.
"He told me I did not get hit in the facemask," Bradford told reporters.
Not even sure how you're supposed to respond to that. So we'll include another angle, just to give you one last opportunity to conclude that Bradford, as the referee suggested, didn't get hit in the facemask:
What a drive, but:
— KFAN1003 (@KFAN1003) December 2, 2016
Blow to the head? Yes or no?https://t.co/dWVGWEsn62pic.twitter.com/cbKHbssEB1
Back on Earth, Vikings defensive end Brian Robison was livid.
"I'm just going to say it right now: I'm sick and tired of the reffing in this league,'' Robison said after the Vikings lost 17-15. "I'm sick and tired of it. You've got holding calls all over the place that people don't want to call it. Bradford gets hit in the face at the end of the game, and you don't call it. I'm not laying this loss on reffing, but at some point it's got to be better. ...
"It gets to a point where it's too frustrating ... I'm probably going to get fined for this, I understand that," Robinson continued, "but somebody has got to step up and say something."
Robison can take some consolation in knowing that the officials blew not one but two calls on the two-point conversion. Before the snap, the not-even-half-paying-attention crew missed a false start on Vikings left tackle T.J. Clemmings that would've blown the play dead.
Just a hunch, but we're guessing that won't make Robison feel any better.
















