Three Orioles, three Royals headline 2013 Gold Glove winners

Andrelton Simmons headlines the crop of first time Gold Glove winners.
Andrelton Simmons headlines the crop of first-time Gold Glove winners. (USATSI)

More: Gold Glove Finalists | Fielding Bible Awards

The first notable awards of the 2013 season were handed out on Tuesday night as the Gold Glove winners in each league were announced. The process added a statistical component for the first time this year, so the league's best defenders are no longer determined exclusively by managers and coaches around the league. Adding that subjective element figures to result in fewer head-scratching picks.

Here are this year's Gold Glove winners, otherwise known as the players deemed the best defenders at their respective positions. Eight players won the first Gold Glove of their careers. Career totals are in parenthesis.

American League

C -- Salvador Perez , Kansas City Royals (1)
1B -- Eric Hosmer , Royals (1)
2B -- Dustin Pedroia , Boston Red Sox (3)
SS -- J.J. Hardy , Baltimore Orioles (2)
3B -- Manny Machado , Orioles (1)
LF -- Alex Gordon , Royals (3)
CF -- Adam Jones , Orioles (3)
RF -- Shane Victorino , Red Sox (4)
P -- R.A. Dickey , Toronto Blue Jays (1)

National League

C -- Yadier Molina , St. Louis Cardinals (6)
1B -- Paul Goldschmidt , Arizona Diamondbacks (1)
2B -- Brandon Phillips , Cincinnati Reds (4)
SS -- Andrelton Simmons , Atlanta Braves (1)
3B -- Nolan Arenado , Colorado Rockies (1)
LF -- Carlos Gonzalez , Rockies (3)
CF -- Carlos Gomez , Milwaukee Brewers (1)
RF -- Gerardo Parra , Diamondbacks (2)
P -- Adam Wainwright , Cardinals (2)

CBS Sports Writer

Mike Axisa joined CBS Sports in 2013. He has been a member of the BBWAA since 2015 and has previously written about both fantasy baseball and real life baseball for,,,... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories