Masters 2014: Luke Donald penalty called by patron at Augusta
Luke Donald had a two-stroke penalty called on him at the Masters and it was reported by someone following his group in the gallery.
Hell of a headline there, maybe the headline of the week.
Luke Donald walked off the 18th green on Thursday evening thinking he had carded a pretty bad 77 in the first round of the 2014 Masters.
That 77 became an even-worse 79 when he was approached by Masters rules officials before signing his scorecard and assessed a two-stroke penalty.
The penalty had to do with Donald's bunker shot on the 9th hole, a hole Donald had double bogeyed. Donald had apparently grounded his club in the sand after failing to get out on his first attempt.
According to this post by Jay Busbee of Yahoo, the infraction was noticed by someone in the gallery.
"A spokesman for Augusta National, where the Masters is played, told Yahoo Sports that the penalty was reported by a patron to an official on the course."
Donald wasn't pleased with the penalty but took responsibility via Twitter:
Got a 2 shot penalty on the 9th today. Left my bunker shot in the bunker and touched the sand before my next shot. Pretty dumb mistake— Luke Donald (@LukeDonald) April 10, 2014
I can accept the odd poor shot but making a mistake like that is pretty frustrating and so unlike me.....— Luke Donald (@LukeDonald) April 10, 2014
Big Cat is back at it for the second straight week, this time near his home in Florida
SportsLine simulated the 2018 Honda Classic 10,000 times and has some surprising picks
This is truly an unbelievable feat from Paul Shadle at this show in Minneapolis
The matches in Paris are starting to take shape, and the best ever is going to be involved
SportsLine's Mike McClure, a DFS pro with more than $1M in winnings, gives optimal lineup...
The field for the Honda Classic this week is fabulous, and Tiger is just one of the big dr...