Nagurski Trophy names five finalists

    Alabama's C.J. Mosley is the only linebacker to make the cut)    
Alabama's C.J. Mosley is the only linebacker to make the cut. (USATSI)

The latest award to cut down its list of candidates is the Nagurski Award, which released its list of five finalists on Thursday. The Nagursky Trophy is given annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club to the best all-around defensive player in the country.

Only three conferences are represented among the five finalists: The SEC, ACC and Big Ten.

Darqueze Dennard, CB, Michigan State

Aaron Donald, DT, Pittsburgh

Lamarcus Joyner, CB, Florida State

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama

Michael Sam, DE, Missouri

None of this year's finalists were finalists for the award last season, when Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won. If either Dennard or Joyner win the award they would be the first defensive back to receive the honor since Oklahoma's Derrick Strait in 2003.

CBS Sports Writer

Tom Fornelli has been a college football writer at CBS Sports since 2010. During his time at CBS, Tom has proven time and again that he hates your favorite team and thinks your rival is a paragon of football... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories