NHL releases 2013-14 schedule, new division names

New NHL realignment with the Pacific, Central, Metropolitan and Atlantic Divisions. (Tomfulery.com)
New NHL realignment with the Pacific, Central, Metropolitan and Atlantic Divisions. (Tomfulery.com)

More NHL offseason: Rumors | Top 50 Free Agents | Buyout Tracker | Trade Tracker

The NHL released its 2013-14 schedule on Friday and answered the question as to what it would name its new divisions under the league's realignment.

The regular season will open on Oct. 1.

Click here to see full NHL Schedule

Training camps are scheduled to begin on September 11 with the exhibition games starting shortly after. The schedule includes six outdoor games, including the Winter Classic between the Toronto Maple Leafs and Detroit Red Wings, which will be played at Michigan Stadium aka "The Big House."

The league will also have an Olympic break that runs from February 9 through February 26.

As for the divisions, say hello to the Atlantic, Central, Pacific and Metropolitan. The only one that should be new to NHL fans is the last one, which will include the Rangers, Islanders, Flyers, Penguins, Capitals, Devils, Hurricanes and Blue Jackets.

Under the new alignment, Eastern Conference teams (the Metropolitan and Atlantic divisions) will have 30 games against their division opponents (five games vs. four teams, and four games vs. five teams) and 24 games against conference opponents outside of their division. They also play 28 interconference games (one on the road and one at home).

Western Conference teams will play their division opponents 29 times (five games vs. five teams and four games vs. one team) and 21 games vs. conference opponents outside of their division. Western conference teams will play 32 interconference games (two at home, two on the road).

Every team will travel to every NHL city at least once.

The new division alignments are as follows:

Eastern Conference

Metropolitan: Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Washington

Atlantic: Boston, Buffalo, Detroit, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay, Toronto

Western Conference

Central: Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, St. Louis, Nashville, Winnipeg

Pacific: Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver

CBS Sports Writer

Adam Gretz has been writing about the NHL and taking an analytical approach to the game since the start of the 2008 season. A member of the PHWA since 2015, he has spent more than three years covering... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories
    24/7 Scores, News, Highlights