Nationals right-hander Max Scherzer was named the winner of the 2016 National League Cy Young Award Wednesday by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Cubs lefty Jon Lester finished second in the voting and Cubs righty Kyle Hendricks was third.

Somewhat surprisingly, Scherzer won the Cy Young in a landslide. He received 25 of the 30 first-place votes and accumulated 192 points. Lester received one first-place vote and had 102 points. Hendricks received two first-place votes and had 85 points. Dodgers lefty Clayton Kershaw received the other two first-place votes.

Max Scherzer is now a two-time Cy Young award winner. USATSI

This is the second Cy Young for Scherzer, who also won it in 2013 with the Tigers. He is only the sixth pitcher in baseball history to win the award in both leagues, joining Gaylord Perry, Rogers Clemens, Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson and Roy Halladay.

Scherzer went 20-7 with a 2.96 ERA (141 ERA+) in 228 1/3 innings in 2016. He led the league in wins and innings, as well as all of baseball in strikeouts (284) and WHIP (0.97). On May 12, Scherzer became the fifth pitcher in history to strike out 20 batters in a nine-inning game.

Here's a quick statistical comparison of the three 2017 NL Cy Young award finalists:

Hendricks16-81902131880.983.205.0 (8th in NL)
Lester19-5202 2/32.441641.023.415.3 (6th in NL)
Scherzer20-7228 1/32.961410.973.246.2 (1st in NL)

Scherzer is the second player in Expos/Nationals franchise history to win the award and the first since the franchise moved to Washington. Pedro Martinez took home the 1997 Cy Young, when the franchise was still in Montreal.

Giants lefty Madison Bumgarner finished a distant fourth in the voting. Kershaw was fifth despite missing two months with a back injury. Late Marlins ace Jose Fernandez appeared on 12 of the 30 ballots and finished seventh in the voting.

As a reminder, the Cy Young is a regular-season award only. Votes are cast following the final regular-season game and before the first postseason game.

The full NL Cy Young voting results can be seen at the BBWAA's website.