Whether it's over the course of years, in a matter of months or even following the result of a single game, a coach's seat always finds a way to get hot eventually. Every year, there are names at the tip of one's tongue when it comes to which coaches are in legitimate danger of losing their jobs either during or immediately after the season. The 2018 season, of course, is no exception.

Dennis Dodd has detailed the five Power Five coaches sitting on the hottest seats ahead of the 2018 campaign. Below you can see where all 129 FBS coaches stand before the season begins (Liberty is not a full-fledged FBS member until 2019). Check out the ratings key first and see where every coach in college football ranks just two months prior to kickoff.

Rating What it means Coaches


Win or be fired



Start improving now



Pressure is mounting



All good ... for now



Safe and secure





Six coaches received the dreaded "5" rating this season compared to two each of the last two years. That is generally a kiss of death; however, Brian Kelly was able to escape the clutches a year ago. Others are on the verge of losing their jobs with one more season of even below-average returns.

The table below is arranged in alphabetical order by school. Listed is each coach's win-loss record in his current role at his respective program and the number of years he's led that team prior to 2018. If the coach has seen his rating change from the 2017 season, the old rating is listed in parenthesis.

Graphic illustration by Michael Meredith
2018 Hot Seat Rankings
TeamCoachYearsRecord2018 Rating
Troy Calhoun1182-602 (1)
Terry Bowden631-801 (2)
Nick Saban11127-200
Scott Satterfield441-221
Kevin Sumlin--2
Herm Edwards--3
Chad Morris--2
Blake Anderson431-202 (1)
Jeff Monken424-261
Gus Malzahn545-222 (3)
Mike Neu26-184 (2)
Matt Rhule1-2 (1)
Bryan Harsin442-121
Steve Addazio531-333
Mike Jinks26-184 (3)
Lance Leipold313-232 (3)
Kalani Sitake213-13 4 (1)
Justin Wilcox15-72 (1)
John Bonamego321-181 (2)
Brad Lambert517-415 (3)
Luke Fickell14-83 (1)
Dabo Swinney10101-300
Joe Moglia654-240
Mike MacIntyre525-384 (2)
Mike Bobo321-183 (2)
David Cutcliffe1059-671
Scottie Montgomery26-185 (3)
Chris Creighton415-343 (1)
Butch Davis18-51
Dan Mullen--1
Lane Kiffin111-31
Willie Taggart--2
Jeff Tedford110-41
Kirby Smart221-70 (1)
Chad Lunsford--3
Shawn Elliott17-52 (1)
Paul Johnson1075-543 (2)
Nick Rolovich210-163 (1)
Major Applewhite17-53 (1)
Lovie Smith25-195 (2)
Tom Allen15-82 (1)
Kirk Ferentz19143-971
Matt Campbell211-141
David Beaty33-335 (1)
Bill Snyder9 (26)74-42 (210-110)1 (0)
Sean Lewis--1
Mark Stoops526-364 (3)
Billy Napier--1
Skip Holtz538-283 (1)
Bobby Petrino4 (8)34-18 (75-27)2 (1)
Ed Orgeron115-64 (2)
Doc Holliday861-422
DJ Durkin210-153 (1)
Mike Norvell28-51
Mark Richt219-71
Chuck Martin416-333 (2)
Jim Harbaugh328-112 (0)
Mark Dantonio11100-451
Rick Stockstill1279-722 (1)
P.J. Fleck15-72 (1)
Joe Moorhead--1
Barry Odom211-143
Ken Niumatalolo1084-481 (0)
Dave Doeren534-302
Scott Frost--0
Jay Norvell13-93 (1)
Bob Davie630-455 (1)
Doug Martin517-441 (3)
Larry Fedora643-343 (1)
Seth Littrell214-131
Rod Carey544-241
Pat Fitzgerald1287-650 (1)
Brian Kelly869-342 (5)
Frank Solich1397-711
Urban Meyer673-80
Lincoln Riley112-21 (2)
Mike Gundy13114-531
Bobby Wilder973-372 (1)
Matt Luke-6-6 (interim)2
Mario Cristobal-0-1 (bowl)2
Jonathan Smith--1
James Franklin436-171
Pat Narduzzi321-172 (1)
Jeff Brohm17-61
Mike Bloomgren--1
Chris Ash26-184 (1)
Rocky Long764-292 (0)
Brent Brennan12-113 (1)
Sonny Dykes--2
Steve Campbell--1
Will Muschamp215-112
Jay Hopson215-112 (1)
Charlie Strong110-21
David Shaw773-220
Dino Babers28-162
Gary Patterson17160-570
Geoff Collins17-62 (1)
Jeremy Pruitt--2
Tom Herman17-62 (1)
Jimbo Fisher--1
Everett Withers24-205 (2)
Kliff Kingsbury530-334
Jason Candle221-71
Neal Brown325-131
Willie Fritz29-152
Philip Montgomery318-202 (1)
Bill Clark1 (2)8-5 (14-11)0 (1)
Josh Heupel--1
Chip Kelly--0
Randy Edsall1 (13)3-9 (77-79)4 (2)
Matt Viator28-163 (2)
Mark Whipple1061-623
Tony Sanchez312-244 (2)
Clay Helton227-102 (1)
Dana Dimel--2
Frank Wilson212-122 (1)
Kyle Whittingham13111-561
Matt Wells534-322 (3)
Derek Mason418-313
Bronco Mendenhall28-172
Justin Fuente219-81
Dave Clawson421-292
Chris Petersen437-171 (0)
Mike Leach638-382 (1)
Dana Holgorsen753-372
Tim Lester16-62 (1)
Mike Sanford Jr.16-72 (1)
Paul Chryst334-71
Craig Bohl422-291